NXT Takeover XXV Preview and Predictions

TakeOver_XXV

Hey there folks, its time for another wrestling predictions post. Today’s show: NXT Takeover XXV. The first show of the Johnny Wrestling era and what may be my last WWE show for a couple months due to several factors outside the WWE’s control. While I still enjoy both of the NXT brands and 205 Live, I’m still finding myself skipping whole months of the weekly show due to my interests in wrestling being catered to by New Japan and now All Elite Wrestling. So this is another tall order for the WWE to impress me. Let’s run down the card:undisputed-era-bobby-fish-kyle-oreilly-vs.-street-profits-vs.-danny-burch-oney-lorcan-vs.-forgotten-sons-1200x700

Fatal Four Way Ladder Match for the Vacant NXT Tag Team Championship.

Danny Burch and Oney Lorcan vs. The Street Prophets vs. The Forgotten Sons vs. REDDragon.

I feel that calling up the War Raiders to the main roster was a mistake, because even with the name change, the Viking Raiders have found themselves lost in the shuffle along with the rest of the tag division. Meanwhile, back in the show three of the four teams have been defeated by the former champs during their 14 defense strong reign. For the Street Prophets, they’re coming off a 3 month long reign with the Evolve Tag Team Championships and a handful of wins against some of the new crop of signees. The Forgotten Sons don’t have any WWE straps to their name right now but their last big win was against Mustache Mountain. As for REDDragon, a win over Sanity at Axxess and several wins over the final team, the Enhancement Talent Lorcan and Burch.

What I’d like to happen: The Street Prophets win with help from Bianca BelAir.

What I expect to happen: REDDragon wins.matt-riddle-vs-roderick-strong-nxt-takeover-25

The Backbreaker vs the Triangle Choke. Matt’s kinda cooled off on me a bit since last takeover as the bro shtick is just kinda makes him seem there. Meanwhile, he’s been having another a pretty good series of matches against another new talent signed up: Punishment Martinez. I wouldn’t mind seeing the two of them to be paired together in the near future. As for Roddy, I see him being the next challenger to the North American Title.

What I want to happen: Roddy wins.

What I expect to happen: Roddy wins.velveteen-dream-vs-tyler-breeze-nxt-north-american-championship-1200x700

My only hope for this match is for Tyler to be moving here as a permanent member of the roster, seeing as Fandango has been out with an injury and he’s also lost in the shuffle. As for Dream, he’s ready to push his way into the NXT title picture considering since winning the belt, he’s had 20 successful defenses to his name. It’s now time for the Dream to take the spotlight for keeps.

What I want to happen: Tyler Breeze win

What I expect to happen: Dream wins only to get dropped by Roderick Strong, setting up their match for Takeover Toronto. shayna-baszler-vs-io-shirai-nxt-womens-championship-1200x700

UGH, please Shaena just move on to the main roster after taking this loss, because with Bianca, Mia Yim, Candice Lerae, and your flunkies in this roster, it will be fine.

What I want to happen: Io wins with Mia and Candice neutralizing the flunkies.

What I expect to happen: Io wins clean.johnny-gargano-vs-adam-cole-nxt-championship-1200x700

Finally the main event, Johnny Wrestling vs. The Dishonored One: Adam Cole. This is a match that I hope puts Adam into the reign of a true great while at the same time it lights the fire in Johnny. While watching Target Takeover, Johnny let’s his success go to his head thinking he’s not gonna put Cole down tomorrow. Since his big win, Johnny has not worked one house show and only has one win and one loss to his name. This win and this loss are at the hands of the Undisputed Era. Cole on the other hand, has put the last 2 months in a more mixed bag, losing to the Dream and Matt Riddle on NXT’s house show circuit, but winning against A.R Fox and current Evolve champion Austin Theory during his last two shows with Evolve. He has managed to keep his group together and now has every member working a big match that night. HE IS READY TO MAKE THE U.E THE UNDISPUTED MASTERS OF NXT!

What I want to happen: Adam Cole becomes the NEW NXT Champion

What I expect to happen: Adam Cole wins and by Toronto the U.E will win every championship in the company.

So this is my predictions for NXT Takeover XXV. The show starts at 6PM tomorrow. Next time, a double header will be coming with the full review of the show along with my first preview of a New Japan show. It’s prediction time for Dominion 6.9 in Osaka Jo Hall. See you then.

Leave a comment